BlueAndGold - Yeatman suspended from football, lacrosse teams
football Edit

Yeatman suspended from football, lacrosse teams

Will Yeatman—the Notre Dame lacrosse standout and promising 6-foot-6, 265-pound tight end who was expected to succeed John Carlson in the starting lineup this fall on the football squad—appears to have some obstacles to overcome first.
Long-time Irish lacrosse coach Kevin Corrigan confirmed information provided by multiple sources over the last few days that Yeatman had been suspended from the lacrosse squad.
"All I'll say right now is that we've suspended Will indefinitely," said Corrigan Tuesday afternoon.
When asked if there was a possibility that Yeatman could be reinstated at some point during the spring season, Corrigan said, "I'm not going to say anything other than he is suspended indefinitely for violation of team policy."
Later Tuesday afternoon, confirmed that Yeatman also had been suspended indefinitely from the football team, which begins spring practice next month.
Yeatman—a freshman All-American on the Irish lacrosse team—was tabbed as the 15th best player in the country by Inside Lacrosse heading into the 2008 spring season. Yeatman was the only non-junior/senior selected among the top 20.
He led the Irish in scoring as a freshman with 25 goals and 21 assists on the fourth highest scoring team in the country. Yeatman was named the 2007 GWLL newcomer of the year and the LaxPower national rookie of the year.
Yeatman, a San Diego native, caught six passes for 37 yards during his sophomore season with the Irish football team after playing 29:11 as a freshman in 2006. Yeatman, better known for his blocking prowess, was expected to succeed Carlson after Yeatman moved past classmate Konrad Reuland, who eventually transferred out of Notre Dame.
Freshman Mike Ragone is the only other scholarship tight end on the current roster. Tight end prospects Kyle Rudolph and Joseph Fauria are expected to sign letters of intent with Notre Dame Wednesday and will join the program this summer as members of the Class of 2012.