Quinn snags Maxwell Award

Image unavailable osqizb
Brady Quinn is Notre Dame's fifth recipient of the Maxwell Award, presented annually to the top college football player in the country by the Maxwell Memorial Football Club of Philadelphia.
Quinn follows defensive end Ross Browner (1997), linebacker Jim Lynch (1966), halfback John Lattner (1952 and 1953) and end Leon Hart (1949) among Notre Dame players to have won the award. Lattner is the only two-time winner of the award, which has been presented annually since 1937.
The award is presented in honor of 6-foot-4, 240-pound Robert W. (Tiny) Maxwell, a legendary college football player at the University of Chicago under Amos Alonzo Stagg, a football official and eventually a sports columnist.
Texas' Vince Young won the award in 2005. Quinn was a finalist last year. The last non-quarterback to win the Maxwell was Penn State's Larry Johnson in 2002.
Other Maxwell Award winners include Tennessee's Peyton Manning (1997), Michigan's Desmond Howard (1991), Oklahoma State's Barry Sanders (1988), Boston College's Doug Flutie (1984), Georgia's Herschel Walker (1982), Pittsburgh's Tony Dorsett (1976), USC's O.J. Simpson (1968) and Navy's Roger Staubach (1963).